To Pimp a Butterfly – Initial Review

No mainstream insight on Kendrick Lamar’s sophomore album TPAB. good kid, m.A.A.d city, Lamar’s first album would get more air play than TPAB, but the content of TPAB has more weight.

To Pimp a Butterfly will last you longer because *warning* this is NOT an album that you can listen to once and forget about it. If you’re not one of those people who understands musical history and especially black history then this album will be hard for you to understand. The best way I can describe this album is, conscious rap meets spoken word poetry, meets foundations of black music meets cook-out backyard music, meets black social issues. It’s a lot, I know, and that is why Lamar is forcing us to open our ears and listen.

Initially I did not have a song in particular that I wanted to go back and listen to. I had to listen to it over and over again until I started to fall upon Hood Politics and every other song that followed. The songs that attracted me the most were Momma, Hood Politics, Complexion, The Blacker the Berry, You Ain’t Gotta Lie, and Mortal Man.  Being a fan of James Brown. George Clinton, Ron Isley, Snoop Dogg and Tupac I’m pleased with Lamar’s collaborations in this album. I’m also aware that Boi-1da produced some songs on TPAB and I was just as pleased with his work as well.

Kendrick Lamar has really impressed me with his knowledge of black history and how we have gotten to this point in society. With the racial tension that is being displayed in the media in the past couple of years black people are reevaluating their role in society. The so called, pro-black movement has taken over social media; for example, #BlackOutDay. I believe in my generation, an awareness has taken place sparked by the outrage of police brutality, social inequality, and economic equality.

At the height of  so many artists coming out with new albums J. Cole, Drake, and Kanye West. Kendrick Lamar has definitely claimed his spot as King.

The people are listening. I’m listening.

Leave a Reply

